Countries And Places That US Citizens Can Travel Without Visa

By | January 3, 2023

US citizens are at times guaranteed with a Visa free policy which is in agreement with the said country. Sometimes because of the relationship and mutualism exist between them, one or both countries may engage in a term which could be in a form of Visa free movement for their citizens. It could granted for either a month, a week, a year or more than a year.

Click to read How To Get Visa To North America Countries

In respect to the Hensley passport index; USA ranks 6th in travel freedom as at 2022 and for that reason, US passport holders may enjoy visa-free travel or visa on arrival from many countries. Again, US citizens can travel visa-free for 6 months to specific countries.

However, it would be best to remember that certain countries only allow visa-free entry for travel and tourism purposes. In cases where you wish to take up work, study, or start a business, you must acquire a relevant visa from the country’s embassy.

As of December 2022, US Passport Holders Can Enjoy Visa Free Movement From 143 countries And Territories Listed. This Actually Cut-Across The Globe: Oceania, Middle East, Europe, Caribbean, Asia, Africa And America.

Click to read Fully Funded Scholarships for International Students

  • Albania
  • American Samoa
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Caribbean Netherlands
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • French West Indies
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niue
  • North Macedonia
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Réunion
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United States Virgin Islands
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Eswatini

Free Movement For US Citizens

Although, you may need a valid United States passport to get entry to a visa-free country and you get to know that you might be required to present certain documents at the port for entry. Most countries allow you to go in for a short-term visa-free. However, you must get a visa extension if you wish to stay longer.

Click to read UK Government Scholarships For Students

Countries Which Require US Citizens To Go With Visa

US citizens can apply for these visas at their destination country’s consulate or embassy within their jurisdiction. Below are the countries that require a visa to board the flight and enter the country:


MIDDLE EAST: Iran, Syria, Yemen

EUROPE: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Russia, Turkey


ASIA: Afghanistan, Bhutan, China, North Korea, Turkmenistan, Vietnam

AMERICAS: Suriname, Venezuela

AFRICA: Algeria, Cameroon, Chad, Congo (Dem. Rep.), Congo (Rep.), Eritrea, Ghana, Liberia, Libya, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sudan

Restricted Travel

There are certain countries where the US Federal Government has implemented a travel ban of citizens from visiting. These could be for various reasons such as an ongoing dispute, unlawful arrest of a US citizen, or any danger for the US citizen in the foreign country.

It is possible to get a visa but there are special requirements for obtaining these visa, or a citizen must meet specific criteria. The following countries are Countries that US citizens are advised against visiting:

Cuba, North Korea, and Syria

Read Also, U.S.A Various Universities That Gives Full Scholarships To Students

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *